Minimum Cash

How do I determine the „operational minimum cash level“ of a company or corporate group?
In order to optimally control liquidity within a company, corporate group, bank, or governmental institution an important operating figure is needed: the operational minimum cash level (short: minimum cash).
Knowing how high the operating cash balance of a company or group should be in any one month can be useful in a number of ways. This operating figure can be used to determine whether excess liquidity or a liquidity deficit can be expected at company or corporate group levels. This knowledge can be useful when making decisions in regards to intra company dividends or intra company financing, but also for external investing or funding.
In the past it was difficult to determine this operating figure. Either the approaches or methods were mere estimates or based on the experience of individual employees, but never really on sound numbers and therefore nearly impossible to contest. To brief management about such a figure was equally difficult.
With the new method developed by Mr. Thorsten Hadzik, he managed to calculate an operational minimum cash level based on historical cash balances. This figure is easy to determine. Due to the fact that it is based on historical numbers, it is quickly accepted by everybody.
Additionally other measures can be derived from and explained by this new methodology, for instance how to further reduce minimum cash. This is the point, at the latest, when all previous models to determine minimum cash fail.
The key to calculating minimum cash lies in its definition. Minimum cash is the maximum cash outflow in any one month and therefore corresponds to the minimum cash level required for that month. Based on this definition or simplified assumption, the minimum cash can be calculated as the difference between the maximum and minimum cash balance of a company within any one month (max-min method).


Additional Information:
DerTreasurer - Article about "Minimum Cash" on page 8 (in GERMAN)
Find on LinkedIn the group "Minimum Cash" to debate further on this topic!

Minimum Cash

Wie bestimme ich den „Minimum operational Cash Level“ eines Unternehmens oder Konzerns?
Zur optimalen Liquiditätssteuerung in einem Unternehmen, Konzern, Bank oder öffentliche Institution gehört eine wichtige Kennzahl, nämlich die Minimum Operational Cash Level (kurz: Minimum Cash).
Zu wissen, wie hoch der Operative Cash Bestand eines Unternehmens oder Konzerns in einem Monat mindestens sein soll, kann in verschiedener Hinsicht nützlich sein. So kann bestimmt werden, inwiefern überschüssige Liquidität oder eine Liquiditätsdefizit auf Unternehmens- oder Konzerneben zu erwarten ist. Dieses Wissen kann bei Entscheidungen wie interne Dividendenzahlungen oder Finanzierung, aber auch für externe Geldanlage oder Geldaufnahme behilflich sein.
Schwierig war es in der Vergangenheit diese Kennzahl zu ermitteln. Entweder waren die Ansätze oder Methoden bloße Schätzungen oder basierend auf Erfahrungen einzelner Mitarbeiter, aber nie wirklich auf fundierten Zahlen und deswegen kaum anfechtbar. Gegenüber dem Management eine solche Kennzahl zu vertreten war schwierig.
Mit der neuen Methode entwickelt von Thorsten Hadzik, ist es ihm gelungen auf historischen Cash Beständen einen Minimum operational Cash Level zu berechnen. Diese Kennzahl ist einfach zu ermitteln. Dadurch, dass sie auf historischen Zahlen beruht, wird sie schnell akzeptiert.
Des Weiteren können von der neuen Methodik zusätzliche Maßnahmen abgeleitet und erklärt werden, z.B. wie der Minimum Cash sich weiter reduzieren lässt. Spätestens an diesem Punkt versagen alle bisherigen Modelle zur Bestimmung des Minimum Cash.
Der Schlüssel zur Berechnung des Minimum Cash liegt in dessen Definition. Der Minimum Cash ist der maximale Cash Outflow in einem Monat und entspricht daher dem Minimum Cash Level, der für diesen Monat benötigt wird. Von dieser Definition bzw. vereinfachten Annahme abgeleitet, lässt sich der Minimum Cash als die Differenz zwischen dem Maximum und Minimum Cash Bestand eines Unternehmens innerhalb eines Monats berechnen (Max-Min-Methode).


Zusätzliche Informationen:
DerTreasurer - Artikel über "Minimum Cash" auf Seite 8
Finden Sie auf LinkedIn die Gruppe "Minimum Cash", um über dieses Thema zu debatieren!